The Greatest and Best Sandwich in the World… Tribute

Remember the movie Spanglish? Remember the part when Adam Sandler’s character, John Clasky, makes that glorious sandwich? Yeah, me either. I do remember hating that movie and, oddly, discussing the movie with guys who LOVED it. But a while back I stumbled across this post about a sandwich relating to the movie and knew I had to try it. Then I found it here, here, and on about a million other blogs, and let’s not forget the YouTube videos.

I’ve kept that sandwich on my radar for some day in the future after I’ve completed a workout worthy of such gluttony. Sadly, the days I work out that hard, I’m too tired to cook and end up down the street at Red Mill. So I decided to make this sandwich leaner and enjoy it on a moderate workout day. Since I started The Shred, I’ve had plenty of opportunities to stuff my face with The Greatest and Best Sandwich in the World… Tribute, and have done so twice in the past week. So, without further ado…

The Greatest and Best Sandwich in the World… Tribute 

Yields 1 sandwich

2 slices of turkey bacon

2 slices of low-fat/calorie, high fiber bread

1 slice of low-fat cheese (I use muenster or monterey jack)

1/2 of an avocado, mashed

Sliced tomato

1 egg

Salt and pepper to taste

Fry the turkey bacon in a medium pan over medium heat until thoroughly cooked. When it’s done, remove the pan from the heat and set the bacon aside. Save the bacon grease for frying the egg. Place the bread under a broiler to toast. Once it’s almost finished toasting, remove one slice of bread, add the cheese to the other slice, and continue toasting until the cheese is melted. Spread the mashed avocado on the other slice.

Add a little cooking spray or a small amount of butter to the pan used for frying the bacon and place the pan over medium high heat. Once the pan has heated up, fry the egg until done.

Once the egg is ready, assemble the sandwich by placing the tomato slices on top of the mashed avocado. Place the fried egg on top of the tomato and season with salt and pepper. I like to add a dash of hot sauce at this point too. Layer the bacon slices on top of the egg, and then top the bacon with the second slice of toast, cheese side down.

Enjoy!

One thought on “The Greatest and Best Sandwich in the World… Tribute

  1. Looks pretty good! My mom makes the best fried egg sandwiches in the world – or, in my world anyway. It’s just wheat toast, one fried egg, mayo, lettuce and tomato. Something about the way she makes the sandwich distinguishes it from all other attempts, by me or others.

    …I think I’ll try my hand at it again today anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

