Painted Wooden Spoons

This DIY project was love at first sight. Unfortunately, I’m not so skilled in arts and crafts. This project looked über easy, but for someone who isn’t always crafting up a storm, it was quite the commitment.

My main issue was trying to figure out how to dry the spoons without the handles touching anything. As you can see here, my method was a bit flawed. Any time I put a new spoon into the container to dry, the rest came tumbling out. I cursed a lot.

In order to keep costs down, I picked up some inexpensive jute cord from Paper Source to bundle the spoons and made my own wrapping paper by stenciling pink and green polka dots onto craft paper. Passing up the rails of beautiful wrapping paper at Paper Source was its own challenge.

I tied it all together (get it?) by using the cord as ribbon. For someone who isn’t so crafty, I’m pretty proud of myself. I made these specifically for Mother’s Day, but they’d make a cute housewarming gift or stocking stuffer for your favorite chef.

Leave a Reply

